Home Page




Children throughout the school follow a curriculum designed to allow the holistic development of the child.  The Statutory Foundation Phase Framework and Key Stage Two National Curriculum take account of children's developmental needs and build on new skills that ensure that all children become confident learners and are inspired and challenged to ensure they achieve their full potential for learning. Plans are currently underway to facilitate the new curriculum for Wales - Successful Futures.


Our Curriculum and Schemes of Work are planned as progressive frameworks, spanning the children's time in our school, from Nursery to Year 6.  Children learn through first hand experimental activites, building on skills and knowledge they already demonstrate and progress onto the next stage of learning when they are developmentally ready.  Children learn and progress through a variety of planned experiences and teaching strategies, and where appropriate through activities they have initiated themselves.  Children aquire and develop skills at different rates and must be allowed to develop at their own individual pace.


In Foundation Phase, Nursery to Year 2, there are seven areas of learning:-

Personal and Social Development, Well Being and Cultural Diversity

Language, Literacy and Communicative Skills

Mathematical Development

Knowledge and Understanding of the World

Welsh Language Development

Creative Development

Physical Development

Religious Education is also a compulsory area of learning


In Key Stage Two, Year 3 to Year 6 the curriculum is divided into subject areas as follows:




Welsh (as a second language)

Personal and Social Development

Information Technology



Art & Design


Physical Education

Design and Technology

Religious Education


The Literacy and Numeracy Framework (LNF) and Digital Competency Framework (DCF) are embedded into our curriculum and schemes of work throughout the school.


The LNF has two components divided into the following strands.


Within literacy the strands are:

  • oracy across the curriculum
  • reading across the curriculum
  • writing across the curriculum

Within numeracy the strands are:

  • developing numerical reasoning
  • using number skills
  • using measuring skills
  • using data skills


The Digital Competency Framework has four strands:

  1. Citizenship
  2. Interacting and Collaboration
  3. Producing
  4. Data and Computational Thinking



Inclusion of all learners

Designed to be inclusive of all learners, including those with additional learning needs (ALN) and more able and talented learners.


Focuses on learners' acquisition of, and ability to apply, the skills they have learned to complete tasks appropriate for their stage of development.


Expectations are given for each school year from Reception to Year 9 in each of the elements/aspects.


Our school receives a Pupil Deprivation Grant based on the number of children who are entitled to receive Free School meals and any Looked After Children.  We are required to publish online how we have used this funding.  With the grant received for 2017/18 was £76,250.00.  The Governing Body decided that the funding would be allocated in the following ways.


- To support the cost of employing staff to deliver intervention programmes.

- To support the cost of targeted teacher assistant support for learning in the classroom.

- To support the cost of our Family Learning Group - Growing Together.

- To support the cost of providing experiences for children to enhance the curriculum and their social and      emotional development (e.g., visitors and trips).


We will continue to use this funding to enrich childrens' experiences to help them become increasingly confident in all aspects of learning.